A Reboot

Image result for reboot

Having spent the last two weeks sicker than I’ve been in over three years, I finally feel more motivated to do something, anything – beyond occupying my couch.

It has taken me this long to actually feel like I want to do more than just be still. There was no thinking, planning, or doing, beyond simple human needs for two weeks. Breathing was an issue and my sense of smell and taste left until yesterday when, as I chewed a bite of macaroni and cheese, I was suddenly aware that I could actually taste. Shocked, I exclaimed loudly, “I can taste this!!” to the amusement of those around me. I spent the rest of the day going, I can taste! I can taste! I didn’t appreciate how much I use and enjoy my ability to smell (is this clean? do I smell? does this litter box need changing? is this expired? what does this essential oil smell like?) and taste (food tastes like dirt to me without it, I don’t know how to cook without taste testing, and forget eating chocolate, why bother?) until it was muffled.

I did lose a few pounds though hahaha. And because I couldn’t drink my beloved coffee (or anything else, for that matter) for four days, I let go of my afternoon cup, something I’ve wanted to do for a long while. Not being a fan of caffeine headaches (even though I normally only had two cups a day), I hadn’t yet. I am now down to half a cup in the morning. I enjoy the taste and the morning ritual so I am keeping that because, why not?

So, that’s been my experience the last couple of weeks. Life, my body, decided I needed a reboot. Seems to fit in with what is going on in the outer world.

 

 

 

I'd love to hear from you!

