They Don’t Create Your Reality

I listened to this audio in July but I needed to hear it again tonight. Staying conscious and not feeling/feeding the fear has been a constant work these last few months, and in particular, during the last few days. I know the fear I feel is about jumping to an imagined outcome. And for me, it doesn’t matter who is elected Tuesday, neither candidate is my preference and both feel like unwanted paths.

I have woken up several times with an unexpected knot in my stomach in the last week. When I wake like that, I know the feelings are not all mine, that I am taking in the collective’s main emotional climate. Fear. So, when I wake, I have to do some conscious breathing to release those feelings. I remind myself to stay in the present and reinforce my neutral observation skills. And then I remember that I create my own reality.

Often over the past year I have just wanted to bury my head in the sand about this election and this country’s potentials. I don’t want to do this anymore! I think. I want it to go away. All the fighting, divisions, unkindnesses, malice, it’s too much! I remember when I was really young and had no idea about the adult world and the subtleties that went on. I just accepted life at face value. Being a little kid who has no clue about any of it sounds kind of nice sometimes. My daughter likes to say, “Adulting is hard.” I say, being an adult growing an evolved consciousness is challenging, too. And we know too much to go backwards into obliviousness. 

So. One step at a time, one moment at a time. I remind my Personality and my brain (or ego, in some teachings) to stay in the Now. Stay with what-is, right now. Stay present in my world, stay in my current moment. Remember my choices affect my world. Start with me. And don’t imagine outcomes. That’s my work.

One response

  1. Pingback: What Are You Rowing Your Boat Towards ..Or Away From?? | Life Heart and Soul

I'd love to hear from you!

