Welcome to 2016!

Welcome to 2016! The last year flew by in a veritable blink of an eye, didn’t it? Well, at least for me it did. Truthfully, I have a difficult time remembering what I did yesterday, let alone attempting to figure out what happened to 2015! 

I don’t believe I’m alone in this feeling though. I’ve heard a lot of people saying the same thing recently. Where did the past year go? It went by so fast! Whether it’s due to “getting older” or to the fact that time is speeding up, it doesn’t matter to me. Fact is, I’ve let go of trying to control outcomes and meet others’ expectations. This has left lots of room for peace and serenity to dwell inside. There is little to no stress or anxiety banging around in my headspace all constantly chanting, “Remember me!! Feel bad about me!! Fix me!” There are no guilty memories causing me anger and angst and keeping me tethered to past events. No more feeling responsible to save the world. I don’t watch or take to heart the doom and gloom on the news. I’ve let go of all that. I simply do the best I can with who and what I am and choose to love myself and evolve, no matter what. I know peace starts within me first and that I’m the only one who can create it for myself. Peace I can spread around just by being me. The year gone by feels sweeter and lighter in my personal world than one ever has, without the bitter aftertaste of unpleasant thoughts and heavy chains of guilt and angst holding me back.

And so, 2015 zoomed by. 

Yes, it took some work to get to this point. It wasn’t easy. I’ve evolved so much, inside, that it’s difficult to put the changes into words. And I know it shows outside. The biggest change for me is that I really don’t care what others think of me. That’s a huge accomplishment! (Excuse me while I take a moment to pat myself on the back….) Of course, I have an occasional blip when I stumble over an old, tired story, but it has no real hold on me anymore. Again, letting go has created a huge amount of peace and quiet inside.

This next year is a big year, both for me and for humanity, it feels like.  Personally, I have new things beckoning, things I want to do, and possibilities to explore. I have made new friends. I love living in the place I’m in, yet I don’t feel as though it’s my forever home. Maybe it will be a snowbird home, I haven’t decided – that thought has flitted by more than once and I’m keeping my mind open to new options. I recently decided to write a book and have already begun to put together some notes. This path is something brand new for me, something I never seriously considered, but I’m going to make sure I don’t drop the ball like I have in the past. I’m really good at planning, but my follow-throughs have been a bit iffy. I feel inspired and unusually confident this time, and the signs have pointed in this direction several times (all of which I ignored until now). But I also refuse to jump into the future and imagine some specific outcome for this endeavor. For now, I’ll just write and take the next step when it needs to happen. I’ve also been spending some time with an elderly woman for the last few weeks, companion-ing her while her daughter and son-in-law explore the area. It helps all of us – the lady likes me a lot, I think she’s a sweetie, her daughter is reassured of her mom’s safety while she’s gone, and I have created a little bit of extra income for myself for the time being. Lastly, come April, I will be moving out of here. I don’t know what’s next for me after that, so there are even more possibilities to explore at that point. 2016 feels full of potential paths and choices.

Finally, while I know I can’t speak for all of humanity, it feels like we’re finally waking up on a global scale. It feels like people are realizing how interconnected we all are. Separation is not viable anymore. Living here in Panama has demonstrated how small this world is. Remember that old game about the six degrees of separation from Kevin Bacon? “Six degrees of separation” is the concept that posits that any two people on Earth are six or fewer acquaintance links apart. That is amply demonstrated here in Boquete, Panama. I’ve met Australian people here who have stayed in a B&B in my tiny town out in the boonies of NY!  

2016 is a 9 year, a year of completion, a time when the old energy, represented by the old guard, really begins to let go and move out, allowing the new energy to come in and do their work. A time when we begin to awaken to the fact that we’re all in this together.

From Glynis McCants

The number 9 is the World Year Number for 2016. The World Year Number (also called the Universal Year Number) is a single-digit number that represents the energy for everyone over a given year; 2016 is a 9 Year, because 2 + 0 + 1 + 6 = 9. The Number 9 promotes completion. It signals a time to wrap things up and bring them to a conclusion. The year 2016 is a time to consider what has not been working in your life, and to begin doing things a little differently. 

Unfortunately, terrorism may continue to surge in 2016, but I do believe that in this 9 Year, many of the major world leaders will come together and work on this problem as a team. We will see a much more united effort than we have in the recent past. More effort will also be put into finding ways for all of us to have cleaner air and water.

Go here to read the rest of Glynnis’ 2016 numerology report.

I can’t wait to see us with all our Lights turned on and shining brightly. I know we can do it. We all have the God Spark inside us just waiting to be lit up again.

May your 2016 be healthy and full of love, and may your Light sparkle like a new star. 

❤  Dorothy

I'd love to hear from you!

