Listen to Your Body

Learn to Listen to Your Body
By Louise Hay, Ahlea Khadro and Heather Dane
Loving Yourself to Great Health
Excerpt from Loving Yourself to Great Health
Psychologists and relationship experts teach people that one of the keys to better relationships is to make sure the other person feels heard. This is because it’s more common that people listen to each other through a filter of their own experiences and emotions, without fully hearing the person speaking.1 The thing is, no one else can understand you the way you understand yourself. No one lives in your skin and in your experience the way you do. And no one else knows how to love you the way you know how to love yourself.
This is why it’s very important to listen to your inner voice. You are the only expert on the planet about you. About your deepest hopes, dreams, and desires. Since we are most often taught to follow rules and care about others before ourselves, it’s very common to not know what we want.

Chances are, you’ve listened to others for too long. The more you listen to your inner voice, the more you can give yourself the love, kindness, and understanding that only you know you need. The more you commit to giving yourself what you need, the easier it becomes to ask others for what you need.

And the more your needs are met, the more you begin to trust life. This whole process starts with you loving yourself enough to listen. And then loving yourself even more by taking action on what you feel guided to do. Knowing that you have this inner guidance system that you can trust makes it easier to remember that you are loved, protected, and watched over by life. That is the gift of your intuition.

The affirmations below will help you learn how to listen to your body, which is truly the key to trusting yourself and your life.

Affirmations

The following affirmations are a great way to let your body know that you are listening. Use these for mirror work and in your daily life:

I listen with love to my body’s messages.
My body is a glorious place to live, and it always guides me to my highest good.
I trust my body to guide me.
Life loves me. I am safe trusting my body.
I appreciate my body’s wisdom.
I am at peace with my inner guidance. No person, place, or thing has any power over me, for I am the only thinker in my mind.
I know how to love myself.
I am safe. I willingly and lovingly release old concepts and ideas.
I am an open channel for the good to flow in and through me—freely, generously, and joyfully.
I choose the thoughts that glorify my being.
I know what is true for me.
I am a unique individual, and I respect my individuality.
My inner wisdom is my own unique approach to life.
It is safe to listen to my body and my intuition.
Life loves me. My body loves me. I am always guided and protected.
Life supplies everything I need.
I am guided to what is in my highest good in the right time and space.
I nourish myself by taking in new ideas.
I recognize my own true worth.
The point of power is in the present moment. The more present I am, the more I tune in to my intuition.
Hi, body, we can change. I want to hear you—let’s be friends. I want to love you.

Footnote: 1. Zordich, Patti M. “Improve Communication—Listen with Your Heart.” Triangle Psychological Services. 31 Jan 2014. Web. 15 Feb 2014

I'd love to hear from you!

