How To Express Your Emotions

If you’re like me, you have spent most of your life repressing your emotions to protect yourself from the reactions of others.  It often feels like too much to bear when others are expressing anger, forceful opinions, and total disagreement.  For me, it has always felt like being energetically pummeled by an authority figure, and even if it technically wasn’t someone who was an authority figure, I gave them that power over me.  

I am still learning how to be able to express myself in a high vibrational manner while in an intense conversation without feeling overwhelmed by the emotional energetics.  I can tell when I am repressing because it sits in my midsection like a heavy weight and stays there until I do something about it.  Ignoring the emotions does not make them leave my body.  Since I am always on a path of personal and spiritual growth, I love it when I run across something that supports me in my evolution and offers a new perspective.

Here spiritual teacher Teal Swan offers a way to process emotions. 

In this episode, Teal explains that you can only heal emotions that you let yourself feel and express.

Emotions are energy, they have to go somewhere and when they are not allowed to release, they rot you from within. Your physical body begins to deteriorate and so does the world around you. The world around you begins to reflect that suppressed emotion.

In order to feel our emotions we need to be willing to risk being vulnerable.

Vulnerability is the place where healing begins. But many of us equate vulnerability with inevitable hurt; and so it feels like a very scary risk to feel our emotions.

Teal then goes on to explain how we use the model of natural expression to deliberately flush our emotions to the surface.

The five layers of emotional expression are:

1. Anger, resentment, fury, blame, repelling
2. Disappointment, sadness, hurt
3. Insecurity, fear, bad memories, deep wounds,
4. Understanding, empathy, responsibility, regret
5. Love, solutions, wishes, connection

Kuan Yin’s Mantra © 2002 Lisa Thiel – used by permission http://www.sacreddream.com

I'd love to hear from you!

