Bioluminescence

A dream snippet stuck with me when I woke up this morning:

I watched myself push my thumb into a small black box sitting on a table, the opening facing me, filled with a substance that felt like what the dentists use to make impressions of your teeth.  As I pulled out my thumb and saw the impression I left, I heard the word, bioluminescence.

mold (Here’s an image that’s as close as I could come to it, picture a small box and a fist with just the thumb being pushed inside.)

And that was it. Well now, that’s strange.  And puzzling.

Me, the one who loves dream interpretations had to let that one sit and brew in me.  

This is so weird, what does it mean?  What does the image have to do with that word??

So per my usual modus operandi, I went to the dictionary and Wikipedia for more information.  I chose the sections that jumped out at me to post here:

Bioluminescence is the production and emission of light by a living organism.  It is an organism’s ability to produce light through a chemical reaction.  By etymology, bioluminescence is a hybrid word originating from the Greek bios for “living” and the Latin lumen “light”.  bioluminescence

Bioluminescence in some animals is produced by symbiotic organisms.  It occurs widely among some groups of animals, especially in the open sea, and less often for land animals.  The two best-known forms of land bioluminescence are fireflies and glow worms.

Bioluminescence is a form of luminescence, or “cold light” emission by living organisms; less than 20% of the light generates thermal radiation.

Here is what I get from all this: it has nothing to do with heat, it is merely being in the presence of the catalyst that causes the change and reaction in a being.  

I am being reminded that my presence affects and “impresses” others.  And even when I pull away, the impression remains (my thumb print).  I inspire the Light in others to turn on by “impressing” my being on them.  I make an impression.  

And by impression, I don’t mean being all impressive and bold and saying or implying, “hey look at me, I am so smart and so cool!”.  I mean just by being me (using Eloheim terminology – simply emanating my truth), I make a difference in other people.  My presence causes internal reactions in others that inspire them to turn on or turn up their own inner lights.

Goosebumps.

For someone with the unhealed core emotion of “I don’t matter”, this touches me deeply.  I matter to this world.  I know this by now, but the added dimension of me inspiring others to turn on their lights just by being me, well, I have no words.  I hid my light and never felt important nor noticed for so long, and now my soul is reminding me differently.  I make an impression.  What I choose to do with it, is up to me.  

I just had the aha that my new enterprise has the potential, and has done so in the past, to turn on the light for others.  Wow.  If that’s not a go-ahead sign for my business, I don’t know what is!  Of course I had to go see what that might mean elsewhere…To see a thumb in your dream is symbolic of power and ability. If you are giving the thumbs up, then it represents approval and that you are “okay” to proceed. If you are giving the thumbs down, then it means disapproval.  Thumbs up!

Our presence matters. Simply being who we are affects others.  We can be “impressed” and have our own lights turned on by a teacher or a friend, or we can be the catalyst for someone else’s bioluminescence to turn on.  We can do and be both. 

4 responses

  1. Oh my god Dorothy.. I love this one!!! Yes, thumbs up for you and your business, emanating your light out to all of us! I love the message you brought yourself here and it was a good reminder for me as well (made an impression) about how simply sharing who I am makes a difference. Not just for me but for others too.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

